top of page

Wednesday Wisdom: What to Do with Your Used MCAT Books

Starting this off by saying, I'm so sorry my hiatus has been sssoooo long. If you have been following me, I haven't written anything in about 2 years (yikes!).... But I'm back and better than ever. More about that later! For now, here are some ideas of what you can do with those MCAT books after you've conquered the MCAT or just no longer need them. I recently found myself wondering, "What the heck am I going to do with these books?" I know I'm not alone and some of you have been letting them catch dust on your dresser. Don't worry, I will give you a few ideas and tell you what I decided to do.





1) Consider donating your books!


This is the option I recommend the most. Due to the lack of resources many minority students face when applying to medical school, donating your MCAT materials to a student in need can assist them in their application process. Personally, this is what I decided to do, since I wanted to ensure I was giving them to someone who truly needed them. You can either reach out to local colleges (try pre-med clubs) or postbacc programs in your area OR ask family and friends if they know someone looking for books. If you are having trouble finding someone who needs MCAT books, you should try Prescribe It Forward's book exchange program with which you can donate your books to a student via mail or meet-up. (They will reimburse you for shipping!) PIF is an amazing organization started by medical students who help disadvantaged premed students obtain free mentoring and resources. To find out more about their organization and their book exchange program, go to https://www.prescribeitforward.org/bookexchange.



2) Make some extra cash and sell them!



This is a great for when you need to make some money either to pay for daily living activities or put aside for your application fees. Just be sure to sell them for a reasonable price and adjust based on their condition. Selling them locally can ensure you receive 100% of the profits unlike utilizing online resale sites such as eBay or Mercari where you only receive a portion. The only con is location can determine your success. For example, if you live in an area where there is a large population of students like near a school, you will have more success selling. Otherwise, you can consider selling on resale/bidding sites or at a local bookstore.



3) Donate to your local library!


Donating to your local library can give other people the opportunity to borrow the books without purchasing the materials. The downside is that it depends on the condition of your books. If they are in fair condition, the library may not accept them. To ensure your books are in great condition for either resale or donation, you can takes notes in a notebook or flashcards on the side. Refrain from highlighting or writing in the books if you plan on giving them away eventually. The best condition they're in, the more that they are worth + easier to donate!




4) Donate them to a local thrift store!



As Macklemore said, you can find anything at the thrift shop, including MCAT materials. Though I usually look for crime novels, I do catch myself thrifting MCAT books from time to time for extra practice when I find them. Not only are thrift store donations tax deductible, but they're available to the next person at a low price.



5) Build a fort out of them!


I'm kidding! Though I won't judge you if you did! It sounds like fun...



Those are all of my ideas! This post was a bit short, but I will share some more advice in a few weeks or months. (Life is a struggle sometimes, y'all!) I am preparing for the new application cycle, so I'll be popping in and out. Until the next post, see ya!




 

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out my other posts. There is more to come soon! Until then be kind and remember tomorrow depends on what you do today. Hope you enjoyed reading! — Taylor ❤


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page