top of page

How I Made My MCAT Schedule

Hey, everyone!



My schedule has been insane this past month! MCAT hit me hard! I’ve been so frustrated with studying. I work a 9-5 job, and it has been tough to find time to breath. This is my first post on my new website! I’m thinking that the future of this blog may move to YouTube or podcast eventually, but we shall see.

So I know a lot of you are taking the MCAT in 2020. Some of you have asked how I made my schedule. Well, here’s how I did it!




Save the Date



I first figured out when I wanted to take it. The key to preparing for something is to know when it will occur. I looked at my calendar and application cycle to decide when I should take the MCAT. Knowing that I wanted to have everything in on June 1st (This is when the application cycle opens, and most people recommend that you submit your application on this day. Literally at midnight.) I knew if I took the exam by April, I would have my scores for the June 1st submission. On the other hand, I knew I wanted as much time as possible as well as to take it on the weekend due to my schedule. I chose to go with April 24/25 since it fit all of my criteria. When I went to look for open seats, none were available so I had to choose the closest date, which was May 15. If you really want a specific date, I would sign up as soon as possible.




When Do You Want to Start?


Now, you have to look at your schedule and figure out when you need to start studying. If you think you will obtain more information with a more intense schedule, maybe a 3-month schedule will suit you. I decided I needed more time since I work a 9-5 job. I went with a 6 month schedule, which changed as time went on. I think it’s best to add a month or two more than required so you can adjust if needed.




Material Girl


So what materials are you going to work with? You need to make sure you can get through all of these resources by Test Day. I have been using a Kaplan class (not sponsored), which has helped a bit with scheduling. I highly recommend getting a class if possible. I was able to sign up for a class through graduate school. The self-paced class allowed me to make goals to complete certain sections by a specific date and work around my own schedule. It forces you to stay on track, and you gain a lot of MCAT skills in the process. Though the class doesn’t teach you the actual material, I found that it was helpful to know what I needed to study by Test Day.


Look at all of the resources you can get with your school, including discounts or access to free resources. If you are not able to afford resources, you may qualify for the Fee Assistance Program through AAMC. This program provides you with MCAT prep materials and fee waivers as well as an MSAR (Medical School Admission Requirements) subscription. For more information, go to their website linked here. Note that their deadline is December 31st every year. You must apply by this date the year before you apply.




Write it Out


Get your calendar and write down everything you do in a day. Even sleep. Now, write down all of your MCAT subjects and what you hope to cover that DAY. Not week. If you set a weekly goal, you are likely to get behind. Be as specific as possible. I use my iPad for everything so I was able to find a calendar on Pinterest (I’ll post it on my Pinterest so that you all can see.) and use that to make a schedule. If you need additional help, use https://www.studyschedule.org/ to make a schedule. It lets you add your materials and set up how many hours you would like to study in the timeframe you are working with.




Don’t Fear Commitment


Now that you have a schedule, STICK TO IT. Don’t allow yourself to get behind in it if possible. If you do, it’s okay! Everyone gets behind. But don’t get too behind to the point you can’t catch up. I got behind and had to adjust. Luckily, six months gives you the time to do so. Also, if you have to change your test, do it! It is better to be late than to be unprepared on Test Day.




In the end, some people don't need a schedule, but I REALLY needed one. It decreased my anxiety about studying when I saw what I needed to accomplish by Test Day. If you have any more questions, reach out to me via social media or email! And remember, you got this!



gif


 

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out my other posts. There is more to come soon! Until then be kind and remember tomorrow depends on what you do today. Hope you enjoyed reading! — Taylor ❤

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page