top of page

MCAT Materials I Recommend

Hey, everyone! I have been super busy with MCAT studying. I have 2 more months, and it's making me nervous! I thought I'd drop a few materials that I have been using so that you can get an idea of what you could use as well.

 


It's All about That Base


Like building a house or sundae, you can't have extensive MCAT knowledge without a base. First, I recommend finding a MCAT review curriculum to build a solid foundation and then adding smaller materials to understand certain topics you're struggling with. If you read my MCAT schedule post, you know that I am taking a Kaplan MCAT course, which is like the ice cream dish of my MCAT sundae. I highly recommend this! It not only keeps you on schedule, but it also gives you everything you need to know for the MCAT and more. I have also been told that Princeton Review's set is also great! From what I read, those were the ones that were most recommended. I received a complimentary Kaplan course with my grad school, so this is what I used. From what I researched about Exam Krackers, this curriculum was only good for specific subjects. Last year, I purchased the physics book, since that was my weakest subject at the time. It wasn't helpful for me personally, since the problems were too simple for MCAT practice. However, some people have studied the EK curriculum and done exceptionally well. It's all about what works for you. I plan on utilizing my Kaplan course for practice as well as some AAMC materials, which leads us into the next point.




Ice, Ice (Cream) Baby


Remember that practice problems and tests are not optional for the MCAT. You absolutely need to practice. It's the ice cream of the MCAT sundae! If you're struggling with a certain subject and want extra practice, there are tons of resources to help. I have been using my Kaplan course and plan to purchase AAMC problem packages if I have the time, because I hear they are extremely helpful to prepare for the exam. Also, be sure to use at least 6 practice exams to be prepared for Test Day. Now, if you're doing practice problems and are finding there are certain subjects you're struggling with, add a few smaller resources to help you solidify your understanding.





The Cherry on Top


After you find your foundation, it's time to add the toppings! These are little things I find helpful when I need a bit more help. Like I said in my pre-med materials post, I love using Khan Academy and Leah4Sci to help me understand specific areas within a subject. This is usually something in biochemistry, general chemistry, or physics. I have printed all of Leah4Sci's study sheets to help me remember high yield topics like amino acids or physics equations. I actually used some of her videos to help me learn organic chemistry - my strongest subject. She's the MCAT queen! Khan Academy videos are also helpful as well as their entire MCAT page. I plan to work on some of their problems for practice next month if I have time. Here are some of my favorite videos. Click on the links to find more! Be sure to visit their websites for additional resources linked in the video description.






So, I recently discovered a new resource called Picmonic! It helps you remember topics with pictures and stories. It's basically what it's name says: a picture mneumonic. First off, I highly recommend attempting to learn the material before using Picmonic, because this is not a primary source of education. It is most definitely something that helps you remember, not necessarily learn on its own. Now, I, at first, thought it was a little silly and odd. However, after using it for some sociology/psychology terms, I was impressed that I was actually remembering things! I highly recommend this for visual and auditory learners and/or people who use a lot of mnemonics to burn things into their memory. If you're interested, click the link here to receive 20% off! Check out the video below for more info!






 

In the end, I recommend doing some research and finding the materials that work best for you. Although MCAT studying can be really stressful, please know that it gets better as you go along. If you find that it isn't, it may be time to stop and re-evaluate. Everyone's sundae is a bit different. Know that no score nor grade is related to your worth. And remember, you got this!







 

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out my other posts. There is more to come soon! Until then be kind and remember tomorrow depends on what you do today. Hope you enjoyed reading! — Taylor ❤

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page