top of page

Mindfulness in Medicine Monday: Leslie

Hey, everyone! Mindfulness in Medicine Monday is back!!! I know it's been awhile! Hope you are staying safe at home. It has definitely been a struggle to stay motivated and focused in the past few weeks. If you have any questions or just need to talk, my DMs are open.


Here, I interviewed Leslie, a nursing student who I thought was a pretty awesome person! I'm so happy she agreed to an interview! As a former student, I feel that it's important to find something that grounds you and keeps you in a calm state of mind. I believe interviewing different people about their mindfulness techniques can help other students find their own ways to cope with the stressors student life brings. Leslie will share a bit about herself, nursing, and what she does to stay focused and composed.

 

1. Tell me a little bit about yourself. What is your main career goal?

My name is Leslie, I’m a 24-year-old accelerated BSN nursing student. I have two previous bachelor’s degrees (Biology and Psychology). I currently work in the Emergency Room as an ER Nurse Tech! My main career goal is to become a flight nurse and obtain the knowledge and skills that will save the lives of my most vulnerable patients.


2. What’s a fun fact about yourself?

I have recently started a YouTube Channel!


3. Where are you in your nursing journey?

I am a senior nursing student with a graduation date in April 2020!


4. How do you think nursing compares to being a practicing physician? What are some differences/similarities? Why did you choose nursing?

I started my first undergraduate degrees (Biology and Psychology) with the intent to go to medical school. After shadowing physicians in the emergency room and spending hours on the ambulance I saw that I loved spending more one-on-one time with my patients. In the emergency room physicians will see 5 patients at a time while nurses have a usual maximum of 5 (depending on your hospital policies).

Nurses and physicians both perform physical assessments and gather health histories, but the nurses are the ones who are carrying out the interventions that are ordered by the physicians and relaying the results and important information to the provider.

I ultimately chose nursing because of my desire to not only spend more time with my patients but to also be the first to relay changes in patient status to the provider. To be the one who is bedside communicating with the patient and their family members about health promotion and their short- and long-term plan of care. I also enjoy being able to recognize acute changes in patient status and anticipate what the provider will order next.


5. What is your current job? Tell me about a typical day and why you chose this job.

I currently work in the emergency department. Working in the ER has been a lifelong dream of mine. The best part about emergency medicine and emergency nursing is that each day I walk into work I have no idea what will happen during my shift. As a person with anxiety, I have found that the fast-paced situations where I am able to apply my knowledge and skills to help patients makes me feel like a completely different person -- someone who is anxiety-free and confident.


6. What kept you motivated throughout college?

I find motivation in goal setting. I have always been a fan of goal setting and planning and reminding myself of my “WHY” keeps me pushing through the days where I feel inadequate and exhausted. Nursing school is an entirely different beast than my previous undergraduate degrees and I remained motivated by realizing that one day these hours of studying will pay off when I am able to prolong the inevitable fate that we all will face one day.


7. How do you stay motivated now?

Since I am nearing the end of my nursing school journey, I stay motivated by envisioning the day I will walk across the stage and pass my NCLEX to become a REGISTERED NURSE. Knowing that I have the opportunity to put into practice what I have studied so hard for makes me genuinely excited.


8. What do you do to relieve stress?

I am a social butterfly and love spending time with friends. I ensure that I work hard during the week so one day or a few hours on the weekend I am able to spend intentional time with family and friends without worry of falling behind. After an especially hard day at school or challenging shift at work I come straight home to a workout to release some endorphins.


9. What is your favorite inspiration quote or proverb?

"Live like no one else so you can LIVE like no one else."

All of the studying, sleep deprivation, and missed events will lead you to a life that you will be proud of. Temporary sacrifices will lead you to long term success. So, put in those extra hours at the gym, in the library, at home, at work ; whatever will get you to the big dream you want to accomplish.


10. Finally, what advice do you have to students who wish to have a career in medicine or STEM?

Pursue your biggest dream and if your dreams don’t scare you, they aren’t big enough! Medicine and STEM fields are highly competitive, but highly rewarding. I won’t tell you it is easy, but I will tell you it is doable. No matter your previous failures or setbacks, face each day with an open mind and open heart. Believe each day that if it hasn’t been done before, you can do it; and if it has been done, try to do it even better.


 

Thanks, Leslie! Be sure to check out her YouTube channel here. Hope you practice your own mindfulness techniques and remember:




 

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out my other posts. There is more to come soon! Until then be kind and remember tomorrow depends on what you do today. Hope you enjoyed reading! — Taylor ❤


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page