top of page

Mindfulness in Medicine Monday: Shannara

Hey, everyone! Hope you're enjoying self-isolation. I know it's hard to stay in, but hopefully, we won't be inside for much longer. I asked Shannara for an update, and she sweetly agreed! If you haven't checked out her first post, you can do so here.

 

What's been happening in your life since the first time we heard from you?

I entered my second year of medical school in August 2019! It has been a tough year. The way our curriculum is structured makes the second year much harder then the first, although, I do like learning this material so much better. Essentially first year we learn all the organ systems in their “normal” nature and then second year we learn about all the systems again but in their “diseased” nature (so a lot more material). I will be taking my last block exam soon (GI and Repro) then I will be studying for our Comprehensive Exam which is a must pass for Drexel. Then after that I go into 6-7 weeks of dedicated studying time for Step 1. So I will be doing 12 hour days of studying from here on out. Beyond school, this year of med school I’ve run a half marathon, donated blood, signed up for Be The Match, and have had some awesome times with friends! I also got one of my research project’s off the ground that I was trying to get through for a year, so that has been exciting. I will be going into a studying hole soon though so if you don’t hear from me that often that’s why. There will be some more developments in my academic life that I will be posting about soon, so stay tuned!


What are some mindfulness techniques you practice?

The first thing I usually do if I'm down is pray. I know God is always there for me and has a plan for me. I find great comfort in that. I try to take breaks I enjoy. Watch an episode of netflix, read a book, watercolor, and not feel guilty about it. That is key because if you feel guilty about taking a break then it's not a break.


What do you do when you're stressed?

I talk to family or friends. I work out or make some tea. I like to do some of my hobbies and use some of my mindfulness techniques.


What are some fun hobbies you have?

I like to do watercolor, I like to paint my family and friends their favorite animals. I also recently started trying to play the piano. I also like running and working out.


What is some advice you have for pre-meds?

Start early! Applications to volunteer in a hospital can take months, physicians can take awhile to respond. Don't wait for the perfect timing. Just go for it and the timing will fall into place. Also don't be afraid to ask for help. Reaching out to someone for help doesn't mean you are less smart, or less qualified. It means you're smart enough to recognize your weaknesses and create strengths from them.

 

Thanks for sharing, Shannara! You can find her as @she_to_md on Instagram. Practice some mindfulness this week and remember, you got this!!!!



 

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out my other posts. There is more to come soon! Until then be kind and remember tomorrow depends on what you do today. Hope you enjoyed reading! — Taylor ❤






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page