top of page

Mindfulness in Medicine Monday: Sruveera


Hey, everyone! Hope you are staying safe and inside! So happy I get to interview a fellow alum of my grad school program! Sruveera is now at Georgetown and is an inspiration to a lot of people, especially alum of our program. Hope you learn a bit about her, her medical journey, and her mindfulness techniques!

 

1. Tell me a little bit about yourself. What is your main career goal? My name is Sruveera, I’m currently a first year medical student at Georgetown University School of Medicine. I’m a long time and proud resident of the DMV area (DC, Maryland, northern VA). I’m the eldest daughter, and a first generation immigrant and medical student, which shapes a large part of my identity, personality, and value system. My main career goal is to first and foremost be the best doctor I can be. Some things I hope to incorporate in my medical career are my passion for human rights, health education, and writing--either through my blog or through a medical journalism route. When I’m not studying you can find me exploring the latest art exhibit, eatery, or dreaming about my next scented candle. 2. What’s a fun fact about yourself? If I wasn’t studying to be a doctor, I’d probably be pursuing some arts/humanities oriented career: in media/journalism, illustrator, interior design, or as a novelist. I’m always trying to weave my right brained side into my life. 3. Where are you in your pre-med/medical journey? 1st year medical student 4. What’s a book or movie you would like to recommend? I LOVE fiction, especially by immigrant authors, because it feeds my soul. I think fiction if done well, can reveal as much if not more about humanity than non-fiction. I’d recommend Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri, and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. Although I don’t get enough time to read for leisure these days, I try to make time for it through my involvement with a longitudinal scholarly track called literature and medicine. We read fiction and discuss it book-club style. 5. What kept you motivated throughout college? College was a tough time for me, and I found myself lost for a large part of it. I think what got me through it were some of the close friendships I made and faith that the best was yet to come.

6. How do you stay motivated now? My study environment matters a lot in terms of motivation. I’ll probably clean my room, light a scented candle or incense stick, and sit down and get to work. I try to change up study spots and will hit up a friend or even family member and study with them. 7. What do you do to relieve stress? Watch a good Netflix show, take a warm shower, and my personal favorite: put on a cute outfit and get my daily dose of nature.

8. What is your favorite inspiration quote or proverb? OR What is the best advice you have been given? In life, be a thermostat, not a thermometer. Don’t let the external environment influence you, but rather regulate and set that inner temperature for yourself. Some ways I do this now are through my online blog, carving out my own niche and presence. 9. Finally, what advice do you have to students who wish to have a career in medicine or STEM? Cultivate persistence, resilience, and take time to really get to know yourself (especially if you take gap years like I did). The people who “make it” in medicine aren’t necessarily the smartest or most talented, they just had a lot of support and never stopped. That was sort of philosophical advice, but for more practical advice, please feel free to reach out and I can give you individualized support on getting into medical school. I’m happy to be a source of guidance--especially to non-trad students like I was.


10. Where can we find you online?

Connect with me on instagram @districtsruvs.



 

Thanks, Sruveera! Be sure to check out her Instagram @districtsruvs. Mindfulness techniques are important to keep our minds at peace. Mental health is just as significant as physical health! Always know when it's time to take a break and remember, you got this!



 

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out my other posts. There is more to come soon! Until then be kind and remember tomorrow depends on what you do today. Hope you enjoyed reading! — Taylor ❤

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page