top of page

#WomenCrushingItWednesday: Fabienne

So happy I was able to interview Fabienne on becoming a physician assistant. I believe it's important to recognize a few positions in medicine as they are all important. Also, I want to present multiple options for those seeking a career in medicine. Here's a bit about Fabienne and why PAs are so awesome!

 

1. Tell me a bit about yourself.

My name is Fabienne. I am from South Florida. I am a certified physician assistant currently working in pain management and per diem in UC. I went to the University of Central Florida for my undergraduate degree where I studied Health Science. I received my Masters in Physician Assistant Studies at FIU a little over a year ago.



2. Favorite food? Movie? TV show?

My favorite foods are wings and crab legs LOL. My favorite TV show is the Office.



3. Do you own a pet? If so, how did you care for him/her during school?

I actually don’t own a pet. I wanted a puppy during PA school but knew it’d be a lot of work with my schedule.



4. What hobbies do you like to do outside of work?

Is Brunch a hobby? Brunch has become my favorite vice. I’m finding joy in reading self help books and learning more about investing and real estate.



5. Why medicine? Why did you decide to become a PA?

Anyone who is of Caribbean background/decent will tell you from the time of you are born medicine is ingrained in your brain. It wasn’t until college where I completed internships, shadowing experiences, and certain classes that made the decision certain for me.



6. What field of medicine did you choose and why?

Initially, I wanted to be a pharmacist but after an internship at a local pharmacy I knew I wanted more patient interaction. It wasn’t until I had a PA come to speak in my Introduction to Allied Health class that I learned about the PA profession and I fell in love. I loved the lifestyle, the patient interaction, the duration of the program, EVERYTHING! After that I decided to pursue PA!



7. How did you find doctors/PAs to shadow?

I was lucky enough to be working at a hospital during my gap year. I would encounter many doctors and PAs. One day I started a conversation with a cardiothoracic surgeon and he was willing to accept a student. Twice a week I would watch the surgeon operate and he later agreed to write one of my letters of recommendation. I also looked up physicians and PAs in my area, mainly outpatient because shadowing protocol was more lenient. I would ask each office to speak to the provider or if the practice accepted students. I finally was able to shadow once a week at a family practice office.



8. What do you do? What are the duties/functions/responsibilities of your job?

As a provider in pain management my typical day consists of getting to clinical around 9 am. I am responsible for drug regiments, physical exams for patients in recent motor vehicle accidents, trigger point injections, referrals for further testing like imaging, and referrals for surgery. I see around 15-20 patients a day. In between I try to chart on each patient. Time management is key!



9. What part of this job do you personally find most satisfying/exciting? Most challenging?

The most challenging part of my job is managing patients that want controlled drugs when their condition doesn’t warrant them. Knowing how to respond and navigate those situations takes practice and skill. The most rewarding part of my job is seeing patients progress and find pain relief which allows them to go back to their life before pain.



10. What special advice do you have for a student seeking to qualify for this position?

Be proud of yourself, trust yourself, and go easy on yourself. This process is not easy to say the least. From undergrad to standardized testing to applying to any professional program is hard work! Try your best in everything that you do. Yes, we here amazing stories about people who overcome low test scores, low gpas, minimal hours but that golden story isn’t everyone’s. Acceptance into these programs is becoming more and more difficult. I recommend trying to not only meet but exceed basic requirements, apply early, apply to many schools, and network with people in the programs that you’re interested in. I do want to stress however, that even if you’re not the “model” student don’t be discouraged. You might take longer or have to take an alternative route but your end goal will be the same. So as you try to become the best clinician you can be remember to not only nurture your dreams but yourself.

 

Thanks for sharing, Fabienne! Remember, you got this!





 

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out my other posts. There is more to come soon! Until then be kind and remember tomorrow depends on what you do today. Hope you enjoyed reading! — Taylor ❤

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page