top of page

#WomenCrushingItWednesday: Stephanie on Life at UAG School of Medicine

English: Hi, everyone! Hope you are well and healthy. Keep washing your hands and social distancing! I am so happy I had opportunity to interview my good friend, Stephanie, who is currently at Universidad Autonoma de Guadalajara School of Medicine in Mexico. Here, she will discuss how it was transitioning to Mexico from the United States, her school curriculum, and life as a medical student.


Español: ¡Hola a todos! Espero que estés bien y saludable. ¡Sigue lavándote las manos y el distanciamiento social! Estoy tan feliz de haber tenido la oportunidad de entrevistar a mi buena amiga, Stephanie, que actualmente se encuentra en la Facultad de Medicina de la Universidad Autónoma de Guadalajara en México. Aquí, discutirá cómo fue la transición a México desde los Estados Unidos, su currículum escolar y su vida como estudiante de medicina.

 

1. Tell me about yourself. How do we know each other?

I am currently a second semester student at UAG Medical school. I got my B.S in Cognitive Science with a specialization in the clinical aspects of cognition at the University of California, San Diego 2014. I completed a Post-baccalaureate program at the University of California, Irvine in 2017. Then, I also got my M.S in Physiology and Biophysics, Complementary and Alternative Medicine at Georgetown University. I met you at Georgetown when we were roommates.





Cuéntame sobre ti. ¿Cómo nos conocemos?

Actualmente soy estudiante de segundo semestre en la escuela de medicina de la UAG. Obtuve mi licenciatura en Ciencias Cognitivas con especialización en los aspectos clínicos de la cognición en la Universidad de California, San Diego 2014. Completé un programa de posgrado en la Universidad de California, Irvine en 2017. Luego, también obtuve mi maestría en Fisiología y Biofísica, Medicina Complementaria y Alternativa en la Universidad de Georgetown. Te conocí en Georgetown cuando éramos compañeros de cuarto.



2. What’s a fun fact about you that many people don’t know?

I went to an arts high school for violin and got to present at the Sydney Opera House. I’m also a Kundalini Yoga teacher and I got to practice even more when I traveled to India in 2012.


¿Qué es un hecho divertido sobre ti que mucha gente no sabe? Fui a una escuela de artes para violín y me presenté en la Ópera de Sydney. También soy profesora de Kundalini Yoga y pude practicar aún más cuando viajé a India en 2012.



3. Why do you want to be a physician?

Growing up, I witnessed my mother face a wide array of mental health issues. Upon entering UCSD, I was immediately drawn to the cognitive science major. In conjunction with my pre-medical courses, I was enthralled by the interplay between genetics and the nervous system as it delineated my mother’s behaviors. As a result, my sense of purpose, kindled by the urgency to help her, became the driving force that led to my enduring commitment to the field of psychiatry. I am also passionate about applying integrative medicine to my future profession, and would like to bring patient-centered care to underserved populations.


¿Por qué quieres ser médico? Al crecer, fui testigo de que mi madre enfrentaba una gran variedad de problemas de salud mental. Al ingresar a UCSD, inmediatamente me sentí atraído por la especialización en ciencias cognitivas. Junto con mis cursos de medicina, me cautivó la interacción entre la genética y el sistema nervioso, ya que delineó el comportamiento de mi madre. Como resultado, mi sentido de propósito, avivado por la urgencia de ayudarla, se convirtió en la fuerza impulsora que condujo a mi compromiso duradero con el campo de la psiquiatría. También me apasiona aplicar la medicina integradora a mi futura profesión, y me gustaría brindar atención centrada en el paciente a las poblaciones desatendidas.



4. What is your school’s philosophy?

I am not quite sure what the school philosophy is, but I have noticed that the environment at UAG is very supportive. My favorite aspect about the school is the way they go about teaching clinical skills. For example, in an IV workshop I was having a difficult time, but the professor did not let me leave until I got it done! He was very patient with me and was very helpful in the process. I like that these clinical skill workshops are the perfect opportunity to learn and grow, and I can do so without feeling intimidated.





¿Cuál es la filosofía de tu escuela? No estoy muy seguro de cuál es la filosofía de la escuela, pero he notado que el ambiente en UAG es muy favorable. Mi aspecto favorito de la escuela es la forma en que enseñan las habilidades clínicas. Por ejemplo, en un taller de IV tuve un momento difícil, ¡pero el profesor no me dejó ir hasta que lo hice! Él fue muy paciente conmigo y fue muy útil en el proceso. Me gusta que estos talleres de habilidades clínicas sean la oportunidad perfecta para aprender y crecer, y puedo hacerlo sin sentirme intimidado.



5. What’s the curriculum like?

The curriculum is system based. Many schools also do microbiology and pharmacology their first year, and pathology their second year I believe. Our school is doing pathology now, and we will revisit the systems in conjunction with microbio and pharm next year.



¿Cómo es el currículum? El plan de estudios está basado en el sistema. Muchas escuelas también hacen microbiología y farmacología en su primer año, y patología en su segundo año, creo. Nuestra escuela está haciendo patología ahora, y volveremos a visitar los sistemas junto con microbio y pharm el próximo año.



6. How was the application process?

It was pretty easy. I think this was due to the fact that I had already submitted my application in the states. I basically had to tweak my application for UAG and just submit from there. The interview was through Zoom, so I prepared for the typical questions: why medicine, etc. I also had a good background about the medical system in general because we had been discussing this a lot in my Master’s program.


¿Cómo fue el proceso de solicitud? Fue muy facil. Creo que esto se debió al hecho de que ya había presentado mi solicitud en los estados. Básicamente, tuve que ajustar mi solicitud para UAG y simplemente enviarla desde allí. La entrevista fue a través del zoom, así que me preparé para las preguntas típicas: por qué medicina, etc. También tenía una buena experiencia sobre el sistema médico en general porque habíamos discutido mucho sobre esto en mi programa de maestría.



7. How was adjusting to Mexico?

It was tough. I had just moved from Washington D.C, which I had loved. I also missed my friends a lot, I missed my favorite food (hot pot!), and my family of course. There are some things in Mexico I really liked. For example, people are very nice, and will go out of their way to help you in whatever you may need. I hadn’t seen people go above and beyond this much in the states. I also got the chance to perfect my Spanish, and learn new Spanish lingo.





¿Cómo fue adaptarse a México? Fue difícil. Me acababa de mudar de Washington D.C., lo que me había encantado. También extrañaba mucho a mis amigos, extrañaba mi comida favorita (¡olla caliente!) Y a mi familia, por supuesto. Hay algunas cosas en México que realmente me gustaron. Por ejemplo, la gente es muy amable y hará todo lo posible para ayudarte en lo que necesites. No había visto personas ir más allá de esto en los Estados Unidos. También tuve la oportunidad de perfeccionar mi español y aprender una nueva jerga española.



8. What’s the best thing about your school?

During this COVID-19 pandemic, the school has been giving us a lot of work and also gave us our block 3 final this past weekend. What I have really come to appreciate about the school is that they have proven that they will continue to provide us with an education despite all other circumstances.





¿Qué es lo mejor de tu escuela? Durante esta pandemia de COVID-19, la escuela nos ha estado dando mucho trabajo y también nos dio nuestra final del bloque 3 el pasado fin de semana. Lo que realmente aprecié de la escuela es que han demostrado que continuarán brindándonos educación a pesar de todas las demás circunstancias.



9. What’s something would change about your school?

Something I would appreciate is if the school used actual uworld questions or board style questions on the exams. There is a lot of material, so I have a hard time balancing school work with Step 1 studying. So, it would be helpful if the school exams were more similar to that.


¿Qué cambiaría algo de tu escuela? Algo que agradecería es que la escuela usara preguntas reales de uworld o preguntas de estilo de tablero en los exámenes. Hay mucho material, así que me cuesta mucho equilibrar el trabajo escolar con el Paso 1 de estudio. Por lo tanto, sería útil que los exámenes escolares fueran más similares a eso.




10. Finally, what advice do you have to pre-med students?


I think pre-med students spend a lot of time trying to amplify their resumes. Volunteering and research is definitely important. However, I think I spent too much time on these activities in undergrad, and not enough time focusing on my grades in school. I think this is important, because as a pre-med these classes are crucial. They will help you on the MCAT and in future medical school classes. Basically, get your foundations solid. I think completing a post-bac and a master’s has really helped me now because I can understand the big picture of what we are learning in class- and it will be important for Step 1. I think the opportunity to volunteer and do research will always be there, but you want to make sure you are making the most out of your education and learning experience as you’re going through it.


Don’t be afraid to take a year or two off, but also do not spend too much time as a pre-med. Also, learn to incorporate self-help and a balanced life before medical school. Medical school is challenging, so you want to be ready when you are there, and make peace with the fact that you will not always know everything perfectly. Eventually you will learn what’s “high yield” and what’s not. Ultimately, learn to have good time management skills and have a healthy lifestyle before! Sleep, exercise, and mental health should all remain priorities despite the chaos of school!



Finalmente, ¿qué consejo tienes para los estudiantes de premedicina? Creo que los estudiantes de medicina pasan mucho tiempo tratando de amplificar sus currículums. El voluntariado y la investigación son definitivamente importantes. Sin embargo, creo que pasé demasiado tiempo en estas actividades en la universidad y no tuve suficiente tiempo para concentrarme en mis calificaciones en la escuela. Creo que esto es importante, porque como pre-med estas clases son cruciales. Le ayudarán en el MCAT y en futuras clases de la escuela de medicina. Básicamente, haz que tus cimientos sean sólidos. Creo que completar un post-bac y una maestría realmente me ha ayudado ahora porque puedo entender el panorama general de lo que estamos aprendiendo en clase, y será importante para Step 1. Creo que la oportunidad de ser voluntario e investigar siempre será estar allí, pero desea asegurarse de aprovechar al máximo su educación y experiencia de aprendizaje a medida que avanza. No tengas miedo de tomar un año o dos de descanso, pero tampoco pases demasiado tiempo como premedicación. Además, aprenda a incorporar la autoayuda y una vida equilibrada antes de la escuela de medicina. La escuela de medicina es un desafío, por lo que desea estar listo cuando esté allí y hacer las paces con el hecho de que no siempre sabrá todo a la perfección. Eventualmente aprenderá qué es "alto rendimiento" y qué no. ¡En última instancia, aprenda a tener buenas habilidades de gestión del tiempo y a tener un estilo de vida saludable antes! ¡El sueño, el ejercicio y la salud mental deben seguir siendo prioridades a pesar del caos de la escuela!

 

Thanks for sharing, Steph! For more info on UAG School of Medicine, go here.


¡Gracias por compartir, Steph! Para más información sobre la Facultad de Medicina de la UAG, vaya aquí.



 

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out my other posts. There is more to come soon! Until then be kind and remember tomorrow depends on what you do today. Hope you enjoyed reading! — Taylor ❤




34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page